top of page

Freelancing - How do you Survive?

If I had a brand new palette for every time I’ve been asked if makeup is my only job, or if I have a ‘real’ job - whatever that is, I’d be the happiest girl in the world! However, there are no free palettes involved, only a lengthy blog post that I immediately knew I had to write once I was asked “HOW do you survive?!”. Firstly, I feel like I need to start off with a little disclaimer. I really just need my readers to remember that I can only write from my own point of view, having my own experiences, unless stated otherwise of course.





For the most part, I feel like it was a bit of an easy decision for me to make. My dad has had his own company for as long as I can remember, and at a stage I worked with him doing admin for the family business. This is where I learnt email etiquette, invoicing, and how to communicate with clients etc. Fast forward to 2015, I found myself in a job doing makeup for a business news channel, where I learnt how to manage my timing (we sometimes had 20 minutes to do a full face before the anchor had to be on set – compared to the usual 45 minutes to an hour), how to work with different skin tones and textures, and how to interact with potential clients… but I just wasn’t happy. I could feel that I was destined for more, and that’s when I decided to take the leap of faith.


Before resigning, I started taking up bookings on the side (for the lowest rate FYI), trying to build my portfolio and my confidence. I could feel that my parents were slightly apprehensive about my decision at first, but I’m blessed to have parents that would support me through almost anything, and I hope to make them really proud someday. It took me a while, but all my brand building efforts started to pay off. I now had a logo, website, registered business, business bank account, and some branded items – but I then started to realize how expensive running a business can actually be, not to mention the replenishment of my products. At one point I raised my head, and started to look around - I was spending so much time and money on building my brand, I felt like I was missing out on life, I mean I was only in my early 20s at the time, constantly working and investing in my business, leaving me with not much of a social life. But I guess you gotta do what you gotta do, right?









(I feel like I’m getting side tracked??)









Anyway, freelancing is DIFFICULT. It makes it a little easier knowing that I love what I do, but there are still so many challenges involved. The first being that you have no consistent income, if you don’t work, you don’t get paid! You’re basically running the whole show, so you have to learn all the necessary skills, be organized and have proper work ethic. You have to schedule your time, keep track of all clients and their bookings, you have to network, do a lot of marketing to make a name for yourself, you have to keep your social media up to date and have an online presence (which is an entire job all on its own!) and stay on top of trends, all while making sure you make a profit – and none of this even involves actually doing makeup! I’ve also moved out, and that in itself is a challenge, trying to run a place when both you and your partner are self-employed, guys it is stressful! *Currently asking myself how I haven’t lost my mind as yet?*


But on the plus side, once you learn to manage your finances and manage to build a consistent client base … Okay I can’t finish that sentence because I haven’t mastered any of those yet lol but I can honestly say I’m 100 times happier than I was working for a boss. I can’t even explain the joy in having your own freedom, calling your own shots and making moves without having to report to someone or await approval. My time is mine, and most months I make double, if not more, what I was making working for someone else - because I work my ass off.

So it’s not only a matter of skill and talent, it’s a matter of passion, hard work, perseverance, as well as a matter of sense of self. I say this because how you handle failures, downfalls and negativity, could ultimately determine the success of your business.







My love for what I do, the vision that I have for my life and my business, as well as the continuous support I have from my partner is honestly what has fueled me to keep this thing going. Sometimes I want to give up, but I just can’t see myself doing anything else at this point in my life. I’m really grateful though, and I appreciate every day I get to do this, because you never know when it can get taken away from you.


Being a freelance makeup artist doesn’t just involve making people look and feel amazing, you have to work really hard and constantly reinvent yourself in order to keep your business alive. These are just some things to consider before taking your leap of faith, it doesn’t hurt to have additional sources of income either ;)



Here’s to being a boss babe



Xoxo

Cleo


61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page